MCB Board of Directors Nominations

In accordance with Article VIII, Section 3(e) of the MCB bylaws, interested members of the Mecklenburg County Bar are encouraged to submit their names or the names of other active members of the Bar for consideration as nominees for various offices and board of directors’ seats for the MCB fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015. Please note that potential nominees must have agreed to serve prior to being officially nominated. 

Names should be submitted no later than noon on March 9, 2015 to Nominating Committee Chair Tricia M. Derr.; MCB Executive Director Nancy M. Roberson; any member of the Nominating Committee; or mailed to Nominating Committee, c/o MCB, 2850 Zebulon Ave., Charlotte, NC 28208. 

2014-15 MCB Nominating Committee

Keith F. Atkinson                                   Erika M. Erlenbach
Cynthia A. Aziz                                      Leila Z. Lahbabi
Catherine A. Barnes                               John W. Lassiter ¹
A. Todd Brown ¹                                     George N. Miller
Carol J. Van Buren                                 P. Barrett Morris²
Hon. Robert J. Conrad Jr.                          Shalanna L. Pirtle
Paul S. Donohue                                   Jennifer K. Staples²

Past President¹ Young Lawyers Division²

Tricia M. Derr, as Immediate Past President of the MCB, serves as Chair of the Nominating Committee. MCB Executive Director Nancy M. Roberson serves as an ex-officio member of this committee.

The Nominating Committee will meet on Tuesday, March 9, 2015 at 5 p.m. at the Bar & Foundation Center at 2850 Zebulon Ave., Charlotte, NC 28208 to consider all nominees.  MCB members may nominate an individual in person at this meeting.

A list of the individuals nominated by the Committee will be posted on in March, printed in the April edition of the Mecklenburg Bar News and presented to the MCB membership for approval at the MCB Annual Meeting on May 21, 2015. Additional nominations may also be made from the floor at the Annual Meeting.

The Committee shall approve nominations to serve in the following offices for the 2015-16 term:

  • President-Elect (one-year term)
  • Vice President (one-year term)
  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Treasurer (one-year term)
  • Board of Directors (six members, three year terms - two of whom must be members of the Young Lawyers Division; one-year term to fill a vacancy)
  • Young Lawyers Division Chair (one-year term - member of the Young Lawyers Division)

You may review the MCB bylaws here



Monday March 2, 2015

Quick Links
Need a Lawyer?  Contact the Lawyer Referral Service

MCB CLE - Your #1 Source for CLEs in Mecklenburg County

En Espanol/Spanish
Upcoming MCB Events

3-3-15 Hon. James B. McMillan Fellowship Fund Dinner
Hon. James B. McMillan Fellowship Fund Dinner & presentation of the Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award featuring Keynote Speaker Dr. James Leutze. Proceeds support fellowships to nonprofit and government agencies.

3-5-15 Lawyers' Luncheon Series - Poetic Justice: Legal Humor in Verse
Join your colleagues at a regular monthly luncheon to eat, socialize and hear from J.D. DuPuy, MCB Member and author of Poetic Justice: Legal Humor in Verse. 12:15 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. at the Bar & Foundation Center

3-6-15 Come Rap With Us - The Business of Practicing Law
Free networking event and lunch to connect informally with peers, ask questions and discuss topics related to transitioning from a large firm and starting out on your own.


Mecklenburg County Bar