MCB Board of Directors and Officer Nominations


Pursuant to Article VIII, Section 3(e) of the bylaws of the Mecklenburg County Bar, 26th Judicial District, interested members of the Mecklenburg County Bar are encouraged to submit their names or the names of other active members of the Bar for consideration as nominees for various officer positions and Board of Directors' seats for the MCB fiscal year beginning July 1, 2016. Please note that nominees must have expressed a willingness to serve if elected.


Names should be submitted no later than noon on March 4, 2016 to; Nominating Committee Chair Hon. Carla Archie; MCB Executive Director Nancy M. Roberson; any member of the Nominating Committee; or mailed to Nominating Committee, c/o MCB, 2850 Zebulon Ave., Charlotte, NC, 28208.



The Nominating Committee will first meet January 25, 2016 at 7:30 a.m. at the Bar & Foundation Center at 2850 Zebulon Ave., Charlotte, NC 28208for initial consideration of nominations. The Committee wil then meet March 7, 2016, at 7:30 a.m. at the Bar & Foundation Center to consider all nominees for final recommendations.


A list of the individuals nominated by the Committee will be posted on in March, printed in the April edition of the Mecklenburg Bar News and presented to the MCB membership for approval at the MCB Annual Meeting on May 19, 2016. Additional nominations may also be made from the floor at the Annual Meeting. 



The Committee shall approve nominations to serve in the following officer positions for the 2016-17 term, pursuant to Article VII, Section 1(b):

  • President-Elect (one-year term)
  • Vice President (one-year term)
  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Treasurer (one-year term)


The Committee shall also approve nominations to serve on the Board of Directors in the following capacities:

  • Board of Directors (six members, three-year terms - two of whom must be current members of the Young Lawyers Division)
  • Board of Directors Vacancy class of 2017 (one member - one-year term)
  • Young Lawyers Division Chair (one-year term - current member of the Young Lawyers Division.)
  • American Bar Association Delegate (two-year term)


MCB Nominating Committee
2015-16 Members
In accordance with Article VII, Section3(c) of the Bylaws of the Mecklenburg County Bar (MCB), the Executive Committee approved the following persons to serve as members of the 2015-16 Nominating Committee:
Barrett Morris²
Stacey Vandiford²
Hon. Shirley Fulton ¹
David Hamilton ¹
Amanda Anders
Dexter Benoit
Julian Arronte
Michael Nedzbala
Kristi Walters
Kodwo Ghartey-Tagoe
Heather Hobgood
Catherine El-Khouri
                    Past President¹                  
                 Young Lawyers Division²               
Hon. Carla N. Archie, as Immediate Past President of the MCB, serves as Chair of the Nominating Committee. MCB Executive Director Nancy M. Roberson serves as an ex-officio member of this committee.